Friday, April 1, 2016

RUBY THE HATCHET: Debut Album 'Ouroboros' to See Deluxe LP Release April 29

Philadelphia psych-metal band RUBY THE HATCHET will see its debut album, Ouroboros, issued on deluxe LP April 29 via RUR Records / Outer Battery. Recorded three years prior to the group's celebrated Tee Pee Records debut, Valley of the Snake, the 2012 digital-only release -- now presented for the first time on any physical format -- offers insight into RUBY THE HATCHET's formative years and blues-based hard rock sound. The limited edition colored vinyl LP is available to pre-order now at this location.

Ouroboros features RUBY THE HATCHET founding members Jillian Taylor (vocals), Johnny Scarps (guitar), Owen Stewart (drums) and Mike Parise (bass). The nine song release was recorded at Retro City Studios in Germantown, PA by audio-engineer Joe Boldizar with assistance from Barry Knob and Sean Hur. Now a full-time member, organist Hur makes his RTH debut here on the tracks “The Lean,” “Holy Father,” and “Good God Damn.”  Released on the heels of the band's self-titled debut EP and written mostly as a three-piece (Taylor, Scarps and Stewart), Ouroboros explores what would be the next realm for the band – playing with harmony, tone and overall style.

“It has been a long time coming and we are beyond excited that after four years our first album is getting a proper vinyl pressing," comments Taylor. "Ouroboros holds a lot of nostalgia for us and is a fan favorite. This album shows our blues and classic rock beginnings and it is also where organ enters the soundscape, shaping our sound from this point on.” 

 Track listing:

   1.) Taking Sides
   2.) Black Tongue
   3.) Can't Get Him Away
   4.) Strange Hold
   5.) The Lean
   6.) Holy Father
   7.) Wicked Ones
   8.) Nowhere
   9.) Good God Damn

In addition to Jillian Taylor, RUBY THE HATCHET features Johnny Scarps (guitar), Lake Muir (bass), Owen Stewart (drums) and Sean Hur (organ).


Psychedelic doom-bringers RUBY THE HATCHET are one of heavy music’s finest on-the-rise bands. Evoking a decade’s worth of growth and maturity in just a few short years, the genesis from the band’s 2011 self-titled EP to present day has been nothing short of stunning. Forming after a series of New Jersey basement practices, this doomy quintet strikes a perfect balance between psych density and metal grandiosity, possessing an organ-driven Deep Purple groove, wailing female vocal harmonies and fuzzy guitar and bass tones that are nostalgic, but modern day. Live intensity and tightness is paramount for these in-the-pocket groovers who not only write together, but live together. RTH conjures occult-flavored hard rock with hypnotic and mythical lyrics, resulting in a witchy brew of wild and ominously dark sounds.

Follow RUBY THE HATCHET on social media:

     Facebook: /
     Instagram: @RubytheHatchet
     twitter: @RubytheHatchet

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...