Friday, December 11, 2015

Pink Frost stream full revised debut Gargoyle Days

Chicago heavy shoegaze band merges 90s alt-rock hooks w/ Deerhunter, Beach House haze 
"An increasingly commanding quartet that embraces the power of guitar drone, tribal drum and the deep, shoegaze-era swoon." -- Chicago Tribune 

"Off-kilter, yearning rock music that strives for a populism that's considered a bit declassé by most of their peers and, as such, badly missed." -- Pitchfork

Chicago's critically-praised quartet Pink Frost are streaming in full today the upcoming release of a completely remixed and remastered update to their debut album, Gargoyle Days. Originally released under the band's previous moniker Apteka in 2011, Gargoyle Days has been painstakingly reworked from the original analog tapes. The entire album is available to hear & share via TrebleZine HERE. (Direct Soundcloud HERE.)

Now the 9-song album packs even more punch and sonic breadth representative of the band's live sound. Plus, with new artwork and under the band's new name, it's not just a polished artifact, but a unique rebirth for the album that made many Best of 2011 lists, including Time Out Chicago.

Pink Frost is also currently in the studio recording the followup to their breakthrough 2014 album Sundowning, which received an onslaught of praise from such revered outlets as Pitchfork, SPIN, Noisey, Magnet Magazine and Chicago Reader, as well as song placements in a feature film ("The Lookalike"), TV's The Vampire Diaries, CSI:Miami and more. 

Like Sundowning and last fall's Traitors EP, the new album is also being recorded at Steve Albini's legendary Electrical Audio in Chicago with engineer Gregoire Yeche. It promises more of Pink Frost's intense yet always tuneful signature of heavy-yet-droning hook-laden anthemic rock. 

Pink Frost is often compared to bands ranging from Ride to Smashing Pumpkins to Dinosaur Jr. to Deerhunter and beyond. 

Gargoyle Days was mixed with Adam Stilson, mastered by Jason Ward and will be available on CD and download via Smart Like Virus Records on December 4th, 2015. 
Artist: Pink Frost
Album: Gargoyle Days
Label: Smart Like Virus Records
Release Date: December 4th, 2015

01) Gargoyle Days
02) Striking Violet (STREAM)
03) In Clouds
04) Where Days Go (STREAM)
05) This Time
06) Voices
07) Gravesend
08) Monterey
09) We Know Time
Artist: Pink Frost
Sundowning coverAlbum: Sundowning (FULL ALBUM STREAM)
Label: BLVD Records / Notes & Bolts Records & Tapes
Release Date: Sept 3rd, 2013

01) Western Child
02) Ruins (MP3) (VIDEO)
03) Orange Sky Suicide
04) The Difference (VIDEO)
05) Dead Cities
06) Who I Belong To
07) Maybe It's You
08) Occupy Within
09) Blue Light
On The Web:

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...