Monday, March 25, 2013

Mortal Music Releasing MONSTERWORKS' Album of Man on March 28th

Chicago's Mortal Music is pleased to announce the release of Album of Man from expansionist UK metallers MONSTERWORKS on March 28th.  This brings together all tracks from the Album of Man sessions which were released in part as Man :: Instincts and Man :: Intrinsic in the latter half of 2012.

Album of Man will be available through all the usual digital outlets and with a special collectors' CD edition in gatefold "mini-LP" format with lyric book available direct from the band via its webstore (

To celebrate the release MONSTERWORKS is making one of its relatively rare live appearances at The Intrepid Fox, London on 28 March. This comes in the middle of preparation for its next album recording sessions at the end of April.

1 The Creation Dream
2 It's Alive (The Philosophical Baby)
3 Unconditional Lie
4 All Suns Die
5 Known
6 Harden to Art
7 Taste of Doom
8 Being Human
9 Free Will
10 Air (We Have Come So Far)

 Critical praise for Man :: Instincts/Intrinsic

"Monsterworks is an amazing grungey, progressive, sometimes thrashy sometimes insane kind of band with amazing musicianship and incredible songwriting abilities." 
- Tragedy Axe

"There are some big shapes within these tracks. Very big shapes. Each track has a completely different sound, starting with huge chunky riffs to chew on and then turning to sludge-like doom number, closing with a tranquil, melodic tune." [4/5]
- Culture Bomb Magazine 

"Man: Instincts is at times bizarre, at times incomprehensible, and at all times utterly interesting. The experience gives you so much in such a short amount of time that it's absolutely worth the ride, even if you only manage to take in half of everything available."

"Monsterworks have no boundaries and flip the bird at the rule book." [8/10]

"With powerful lyrics that doubt one's belief, the band's music is far more than harmony and technique, for it might make a person think and confront himself with things he may consider undoubtedly true." -Metal Shock Finland

Contact for press inquiries and interview requests.
In the course of its existence MONSTERWORKS has been responsible for albums as farfetched as a metal space adventure concept album in two parts (Spacial Operations - 2007 and Singularity - 2009), but more recently has explored philosophical territory (The God Album - 2011) and an approach to recording that mostly relies on "old-school" technology, i.e. 24 track, 2-inch tape, like the classic albums the band grew up with.  It was time to take a step back and rediscover the grit that made metal great, rather than the over-polished mechanical production that is often evident in modern releases.

Stylistically the band has always been difficult to pin down, at one moment death metal, in another stoner rock, then back to thrash; but the challenge to the listener is intentional and somehow in the end it works (in the context of heavy metal, which is the only essential influence).  What is important is that the music does not switch between styles for the sake of it, nor to show off; it is just what feels right in the moment.

MONSTERWORKS has, possibly to its own detriment, never followed trends or towed the line; preferring to forge its own path in the continually evolving world of heavy metal.  In this respect it has always stayed true to its mission statement:


Hugo - Bass
James - Drums
Jon - Guitar / Vocals
Marcus - Lead Guitar

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...