Friday, February 12, 2016

JOY to Release New Album 'Ride Along!' April 29

New LP from California Heavy Psych Squad Includes Members of Earthless, Radio Moscow & Sacri Monti 

"Joy densely packs songs with enough psychedelic freak-outs and off-the-handle riffs to send your jellied brain to outer space." - PORTLAND MERCURY
Award-winning San Diego Psych Rock band JOY will release its new album, Ride Along!, on April 29 via Tee Pee Records. Produced by vocalist / guitarist Zachary Oakley and recorded at San Diego's Audio Design Studios (Earthless, Rocket From the Crypt), the album contains nine new JOY compositions and a searing cover of ZZ Top's "Certified Blues". Ride Along! features guest contributions from an all-star lineup of Cali psych rock heroes, including Earthless drummer Mario Rubalcaba, Radio Moscow guitarist Parker Griggs and guitarist Brenden Dellar, of Tee Pee labelmates Sacri Monti.

   Ride Along! is the widely-anticipated follow up to JOY's 2014 release, Under the Spell of Joy, which was named Best Hard Rock Album by the San Diego Union-Tribune at the 2014 SD Music Awards and hailed as "
smoldering songs that suck the listener into a a surging sea of searing solos and psychedelic swagger" by Guitar World.

   The sound of JOY has been described as "a spaced-out sonic groove-ride" and "outer reach freak out", but that hyperbole alone doesn't do justice to the group's measured mode of attack. JOY puts a premium on establishing both structure and dynamics, its kaleidoscopic flurry and full-throttle riffage is anchored by both subtle detail and surprising textural depth. On the upcoming LP, Ride Along!, JOY deliver a deafening gauntlet of heavy psychedelia where no riff is left unturned. Ride Along! is a ferocious testament to the chest-shaking power of rock & roll!
(L to R: Justin Hulson, Thomas DiBenedetto, Zachary Oakley
   Track listing:

     1.) I've Been Down (Set Me Free)
     2.) Misunderstood
     3.) Evil Woman
     4.) Going Down Slow
     5.) Certified Blues (ZZ Top)
     6.) Help Me
     7.) Red, White and Blues
     8.) Peyote Blues
     9.) Ride Along!
   10.) Gypsy Mother's Son
   To tide fans over until the late April release of Ride Along!, JOY has released a music video for their track, 'Confusion', which appears on Under the Spell The video was filmed and edited by Jeff Halleran and features projections by Operation Mindblow. See it HERE.
   Follow JOY on social media:

     Facebook: /JOYbandofficial
     instagram: @JOYheadband 

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...